Skip to Main Content

March 6, 2024

The BAL Season 4 is here!

The Basketball Africa League (BAL) will celebrate its fourth season in style, that’s something followers and fans of the league can’t wait for.

The league continues to grow yearly, so has its popularity, which is exemplified by the expansion of the number of host cities, from 3 to 4 and the number of games played per season from 38 to 48 per season.

What else could one ask for?

When the BAL season tips off in Pretoria, on Saturday 9th, in Pretoria, South Africa, the league will have played 102 games (since its inception in 2021), visited three African cities, and registered a continuing growth of fans inside its arenas.

It's the result of this positive feedback that the BAL Season 4 will be played for the very first time in South Africa, and it has launched a new Conference: the Kalahari Conference.

Among the 12 participating teams in the 2024 BAL Season, five teams are set to make their maiden appearance in the league while two others are returning for the fourth season in a row.

BAL newcomers include Al Ahly Ly (Libya), Armée Patriotique Rwandaise Basketball (Rwanda), Bangui Sporting Club (Central African Republic), Dynamo Basketball Club (Burundi) and FUS Rabat (Morocco).

The three new countries (Burundi, Central African Republic and Libya) to be represented in the BAL join 18 others whose flags have or continue to be carried around BAL arenas.

The 12 teams are split across three conferences, consisting of four teams each.

Kalahari Conference:
Venue: SunBet Arena in Pretoria, South Africa.
Schedule – March 9-17.
Teams: Cape Town Tigers (hosts), Dynamo Basketball Club, FUS Rabat and Petro de Luanda.

Nile Conference:
Venue: Hassan Mostafa Indoor Sports Complex in Cairo, Egypt. 
Schedule: April 19-27.
Teams: Al Alhy Sporting Club (hosts), Al Ahly Libya, Bangui Sporting Club, City Oilers

Sahara Conference:
Venue: Dakar Arena, Senegal
Schedule: May 4 – 12.
Teams: Armée Patriotique Rwandaise Basketball, AS Douanes, Rivers Hoopers, US Monastir

BAL Season 4, Playoffs:
Venue: BK Arena, Kigali, Rwanda
Schedule: Playoffs teams will compete for four seeding games followed by an eight-game, single-elimination series and Finals from Friday, May 24 – Saturday, June 1.

Each conference will play a 12-game Group Phase with each team facing the other three twice.

The opening game of the BAL Season 4 will see Petro de Luanda going up against FUS Rabat at 4pm (CAT) on Saturday, March 9 while Cape Town Tigers will face Dynamo Basketball Club at 7 pm (CAT).

Fans wanting to watch BAL Season 4 games live can purchase tickets online on website, as well as online platforms (Pretoria) and (Dakar).

All 48 games will be broadcast live across 214 countries and territories through BAL partners.